It's very easy to delete a news update you created yourself, simply by clicking on the menu button in the lower right corner of the update and hitting "Delete". Confirm this when asked "Really delete?" and you're done. Your contacts won't see this news update anymore either.
Please note: If you find you can't delete an update on your homepage because there are several updates grouped together as one, please go to "Activity" and delete it there.