Closed groups are only available to members who have been approved by the group moderator. Both the group owner and moderators can approve or decline membership requests. Anyone wanting to access the content of a closed group will need to join the group to do so. Only the "About this group" page is visible to non-members. Closed groups are designed to allow people to discuss sensitive topics with a restricted circle of other people and only grant access to those XING members who are genuinely interested in these particular topics.