When creating a new group, it will be public: it's easily found and potential new members can see all posts, group events and current members. Thus, they can get a good overview of your group before joining your community.
For private groups, on the other hand, only group members can see the posts, group events, and members. If you want to create a private group, please proceed as follows:
- Enter your group on your desktop PC
- Hover over the top section of your group. A small pen icon will appear on the banner image. Click it to get to the edit mode of your group’s visibility.
- Change the visibility from public to private by ticking the respective box.
If you want to switch back to a public group, please follow these steps to make sure your group members know that their posts and other group information will soon be visible to everyone again:
- Send a "moderator news" message to you group members notifying them of the change at least 14 days before switching. This will allow your group members to delete posts with sensitive content on time or leave the group if necessary.
- Once the 14 days have passed, get in touch with us via the contact form to switch your group.
- Our service team will change your group’s visibility for you.